Press Release: Senator Kevin de León Endorses Logan Smith


California Senate Leader Joins Numerous Legislators In Backing Logan Smith’s Campaign for City Council Seat

SANTA CLARITA, CA -- Further cementing widespread support from state and federal legislators across California, today Logan Smith was endorsed by California Senate Leader Kevin de León (D - East Los Angeles). Coming on the heels of news that Smith outraised incumbent Bill Miranda by a wide-margin, this major endorsement adds significantly to Smith’s momentum going into election year.

As President pro Tempore of the California Senate, Kevin de León has led the charge in the fight to secure permanent housing for homeless veterans with his “No Place Like Home” initiative. Furthermore, Senator de León was a leading voice in negotiating an expansion of California’s Film and Television Tax Credit Program, which has directly led to job creation and economic benefits in the City of Santa Clarita.

On the subject of his endorsement, Senator de León had this to say:

"Now, more than ever, it's important that we elect public servants who will champion California values and give ordinary, hard-working people a seat at the table. I'm endorsing Logan Smith for Santa Clarita City Council because he has a comprehensive plan to combat climate change at a local level while creating sustainable, good-paying jobs for the future."

Since announcing his campaign for Santa Clarita City Council, Smith has rallied support from grassroots and elected officials both in the Santa Clarita Valley and across the state, including:

Congressman Ro Khanna, CA-17 (Silicon Valley)

State Senate President Kevin de León, SD-24 (East Los Angeles)

Assembly Speaker Pro Tempore Kevin Mullin, AD-22 (South San Francisco)

Assembly Member Laura Friedman, AD-43 (Burbank)

Assembly Member Ash Kalra, AD-27 (San Jose)

Assembly Member Blanca Rubio, AD-48 (San Gabriel Valley)

Gayle McLaughlin, former mayor of Richmond

Bobbie McGowan, former mayor of Temple City

Vinnie Bacon, Fremont City Councilman

Jovanka Beckles, Vice Mayor of Richmond

Weston Lindemann, Meridian (MS) City Councilman

Dotty Nygard, Emergency Room Nurse, Congressional Candidate (CD-10)

Katie Hill, Executive Director of People Assisting The Homeless (PATH)

RL Miller, Chair of California Democratic Party Environmental Caucus

Patti Sulpizio, President of Democratic Alliance for Action

Tim Canova, Professor of Law and Public Finance, Broad College of Law

Spencer Dayton, Secretary of the California Democratic Party Rural Caucus

Mai Do, Co-Founder of CA25UP

Darrell Park, former White House budget specialist

Mohammed Khader, Chief Strategist, Youth Caucus of America, Inc.

Ryan Skolnick, AD 38 Delegate

Melissa Garcia, AD 38 Delegate

Ryan Valencia, AD 38 Delegate

Joe Ayala, AD 38 Delegate

Nathan Bousfield, AD 38 Delegate

Brian Dennert, AD 38 Delegate

Lynne Plambeck, AD 38 Delegate

John Billingsley, Actor, PUSH Organizer

Gavin Pierce, Grassroots Organizer, Student's March

*Titles for identification purposes only.


Share it:    

Get Updates